Government forms 8-member committee to decide lottery GST rates; Head- Sudhir Mungantiwar

  • GST Council has announced the formation of a Group of Ministers (GoM) panel to look into the differential GST rates on lottery tickets and tax issues arising from lottery sales.

  • The GoM/Committee will be headed by Sudhir Mungantiwar (Finance Minister of Maharashtra). The committee has 8 members.

  • The Panel will suggest if a uniform tax rate should be imposed on lotteries or the current system of differential tax rate be continued.
  • Currently, a state-organised lottery attracts 12 per cent GST while a state-authorised lottery attracts 28 per cent tax. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *