Winners of 2019 Pulitzer Prizes Announced

Winners of 2019 Pulitzer Prizes Announced

The Pulitzer Prizes is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.

The Prizes are awarded every year in twenty-one categories.

Given below is the list of winners of Pulitzer Prizes for the year 2019:

Category Winners
Public ServiceSouth Florida Sun Sentinel
Breaking News ReportingThe Staff of Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Investigative ReportingMatt Hamilton, Harriet Ryan and Paul Pringle of the Los Angeles Times
Explanatory ReportingDavid Barstow, Susanne Craig and Russ Buettner of The New York Times
Local ReportingStaff of The Advocate, Baton Rouge, La.
National ReportingStaff of The Wall Street Journal
International ReportingMaggie Michael, Maad al-Zikry and Nariman El-Mofty of The Associated Press and

Staff of Reuters, with notable contributions from Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo

Feature WritingHannah Dreier of ProPublica
CommentaryTony Messenger of The St. Louis Post-Dispatch
CriticismCarlos Lozada of The Washington Post,
Editorial WritingBrent Staples of The New York Times
Editorial CartooningDarrin Bell,
Breaking News PhotographyThe photography staff of Reuters,
Feature PhotographyLorenzo Tugnoli of The Washington Post,

Letters, Drama, and Music

FictionThe Overstory by Richard Powers
DramaFairview, by Jackie Sibblies Drury
HistoryFrederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom by David W. Blight
BiographyThe New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke, by Jeffrey C. Stewart,
PoetryBe With, by Forrest Gander
General NonfictionAmity and Prosperity: One Family and the Fracturing of America,
MusicPrism, by Ellen Reid,

Special Citations

Aretha Franklin and Capital Gazette, Annapolis, Md.